The 29th Prisons Council Meeting commenced today 12th April 2022, at Kitalya Mini Max Prisons, Wakiso District.

The Commissioner General of Prisons - Can. Dr. Johnson Omuhunde Rwashote Byabashaija officially opened the two-day meeting which discusses issues pertaining UPS policy, administration of the service, staff welfare, human capital development and come up with solutions for improved performance.

Dr. Byabashaija called on Prisons Officers to continue embracing discipline and hard work in their day to day duties so as to uphold the standards of Uganda Prisons Service.

New members of the Prisons Council were sworn in and these are CP, Tugume Henry, CP, Amos Turyashaba, C.P, Mose Kamugisha, C.P,  Henry Tugume, Ag. C.P,  Moses Ssentalo, SSP Festo Sambya, SSP Geoffrey Obbo, SSP Xavier Elubu, SSP Ronald Kalali, ASP, Mrs. Irene Nantongo, CH III Kasolo Godfrey, Sgt WDR Ayim Nixson and Ass. Matron Santa Aima.

The Prisons Council is composed of Commissioner General of Prisons, Deputy Commissioner General of Prisons, Assistant Commissioner Generals of Prisons, Commissioners of Prisons, Regional Prisons Commanders and a member each from the Non- commissioned ranks.